Wow, there are a lot of interesting releases for July – there’s good stuff every week. We haven’t had a month like this in ages.

As always, this list has selected single and album releases for the month, not all of them (i.e. releases from groups that I’m interested in tracking). My apologies if I missed a significant release  – please mention the artist and title in a comment and I’ll update the list as long as I can confirm it’s for sale.

More complete listings are available on merchant websites (I use CD Japan’s list).

July 3rd

Nogizaka46 – Girls Rule

BUMP OF CHICKEN – BUMP OF CHICKEN I 1999-2004 (album)

BUMP OF CHICKEN – BUMP OF CHICKEN II 2005-2010 (album)

Shounentai – Wangan Skiyer

Shounentai – Ai to Chinmoku

Shounentai – Jounestu no ichiya

(Original Soundtrack) – PLAYZONE ’13 SONG & DANC ‘N. PART III (album)

VAMPS – (A)head / Replay

GACKT – Best Of The Best vol.1 -Mild- (album)

GACKT – Best Of The Best vol.1 -Wild- (album)

flumpool – Taisetsuna Mono wa Kimi Igai ni Miataranakute / Binetsu Refrain

Angela Aki – Yume no Owari Ai no Hajimari

S/mileage – Atarashii Watashi ni Nare! / Yattaruchan

July 10th

Amuro Namie – Feel (album)

EXILE TRIBE (Sandaime J-Soul Brothers and GENERATIONS) – Burning Up

Gouriki Ayame – Tomodachi Yori Daiji na Hito

DREAMS COME TRUE – (Title TBA)

Ikimonogakari – Egao

A.B.C-Z – Walking on Clouds (DVD single)

Watanabe Mayu – Rappa Renshuchu

Cute – Kanashiki Amefuri / Adam to Eve no Dilemma

NICO Touches the Walls – Niwakaame nimo Makezu

An Cafe – Itai Onna – NO PAIN, NO LOVE ? JAPAIN GIRLS in LOVE

July 17th

SKE48 – Utsukushii Inazuma

NEWS – NEWS (album)

SHARAM Q – “Single Bed”

Tsuchiya Anna – (Title TBA)

aiko – Loveletter / 4 Gatsu no Ame

Sako Tomohisa – Bye-Bye

AI – Moriagaro (album)

July 24th

SUPER JUNIOR – Hero (album)

GLAY – DARK RIVER / Eternally / Tokei

Kobukuro – One Song From Two Hearts / Diamond

Shiritsu Ebisu Chugaku – Chunin (album)

Ikimonogakari – I (album)

bump.y – Savage Heaven

July 31st

Yamashita Tomohisa – Summer Nude ’13

UVERworld – (Title TBA)

Mizuki Nana – Vitalization

Koda Kumi – Summer Trip

MAXIMUM THE HORMONE – Yoshu Fukushu (album)

BABYRAIDS – Baby Ambitious

DAIGO – Itsumo Dakishimete / Mugen REBIRTH

August 7th

Southern All Stars – Peace to Highlight

Akanishi Jin – Hey What’s Up?

Acid Black Cherry – Greed Greed Greed

IDOLING!!! – Summer Lion

So . . . where do I start? I guess chronological order makes sense.

The BUMP OF CHICKEN releases, though just compilation albums, will be the highlights of that side of the charts on July 3rd. I don’t know what’s up with the Shounentai releases – it seems odd to have three simultaneously like that, but I’m sure there’s a reason for it. Otherwise, I’m always curious about VAMPS singles – Hyde-san’s voice is always intriguing, but I can never tell beforehand whether I’ll enjoy the song or not.

On July 10th, I’m very curious about how Gouriki Ayame-san will do, and there’s some serious competition around in that week. Too bad A.B.C-Z still isn’t releasing regular singles, but I hope they do well enough with this DVD single release to gain the confidence of the agency.

I’m looking forward to the NEWS self-titled album on July 17th, and I continue to be interested in Sako Tomohisa-kun’s releases as well.

July 24th has two seasoned heavyweights on the single side – GLAY and Kobukuro. I’m not sure how the album side will shape up between Ikimonogakari and SUPER JUNIOR.

To close out July, I’ll be watching how Yamapi’s single does, though I wish it didn’t have a title that scream s”this is not for you!” at me.

And after Yamapi’s release, we get Akanishi Jin-kun’s comeback in the following week. “Hey What’s Up?” isn’t the most inspiring title ever, either, but I hope he does well with it. Southern All Stars and Acid Black Cherry are both top-class purveyors of music, and I’ll be looking forward to hearing what they have for us in August.