Okay, so I’ve been willfully putting this off because I’m not ready to move on to the next season, since I’m still in the middle of reviewing Biblia Koshodou no Jiken, Kodomo Keishi, and Last Hope. At least I’ll finish Shinryochu this week, which will free me to start reviewing Bad Boys J. The winter dramas, except perhaps for Shinryochu and, at the beginning, Nobunaga no Chef, really didn’t inspire much enthusiasm in me, and have really dampened my interest in the Spring season.

As a result, I’m really only fired up about reviewing Bad Boys J. Otherwise, I’m going to take a look at a bunch of them as usual, including “Kasuka na Kanojo” and “35 Sai no Koukousei”, but otherwise I might turn to doing the whole series (rather than episodic) reviews that I’ve left on the backburner, including Share House no Koibito and some old favorites I’ve prepared (the first step is always to take and then filter through the screenshots, and I’ve already done this for a few dramas). Also, with plenty of new variety shows starting up, maybe there’s more fertile ground for reviews there.

Still, if you have any recommendations for the new season, I’ll be happy to hear them. I already got a vote for “Machigawarechatta Otoko”, which I might not even have taken a look at otherwise, but now I’ll be sure to at least check out. Before that, let’s have the final numbers for last season:

Prime Time Shows

Biblia Koshodo no Jiken Techo – (Season Avg.) 11.3%, (Finale) 8.1%

Nobunaga no Chef – (Season Avg.) 10.8%, (Finale) 11.0%

Last Hope – (Season Avg.) 10.5%, (Finale) 8.1%

Nakuna, Hara-chan – (Season Avg.) 10.2%, (Finale) 10.3%

Share House no Koibito – (Season Avg.) 9.4%, (Finale) 10.2%

Karamazov no Kyoudai – (Season Avg.) 6.3%, (Finale) 6.3%

Late Night Shows

Shinryochu -in the Room- – (Season Avg.) 2.1%, (Finale) 1.8%

Kodomo Keishi – (Season Avg.) 1.5%, (Finale) 0.9%

If there’s any consolation for me, it’s that the Japanese viewing public was clearly lukewarm toward these dramas, too. Even with their already low numbers, Biblia and Last Hope managed to post surprisingly – even shockingly – weak figures for their last episodes. Did they telegraph how the story was going to end ahead of time, so that viewers who had stuck around for the whole season didn’t feel a need to waste another hour on it? Or was there another explanation?

It doesn’t look like the Spring season will be a lot better. Some series have aired their first episode, and Yonekura Ryoko-san’s 35 Sai no Koukousei is leading the pack with a 14.7% rating. Aragaki Yui-san’s Sora Tobu Kouhoushitsu was close behind with 14.0%. Those are both worse than the top dramas of Winter (Aibou Eleven and Tonbi, which were not in my coverage list) averaged. So, it actually looks like viewing interest might be even worse in the Spring season, and Japanese viewers might flock to the variety shows much like I plan to. We’ll see.

