The release schedule for April is much lighter than it was for March since all the big players already put out their stuff to capture the seasonal energy.

As always, these are selected single and album releases for April (i.e. releases from groups that I’m interested in tracking). My apologies if I missed a significant release – please mention the artist and title in a comment and I’ll update the list.

More complete listings are available on merchant websites (I use CD Japan’s list). For my part, I think there’s some value in also having a shortlist (especially for my own reference), so I’ll stick with this format. This month in particular had a flood of blu-spec stuff and other re-releases cluttering up the list.

April 3rd

Takahashi Minami – Jane Doe

EXILE – EXILE Pride – Konna Sekai wo Aisurutame

Dir En Grey – The Unraveling (mini-album)

Cute – Crazy Kanzen na Otona

April 10th

Fukuyama Masaharu – Tanjoubi ni wa Mashiro na Yuri wo / Get the groove

Momoiro Clover Z – 5th Dimension (album)

No Name – Kono Namida wo Kimi ni Sasagu

Every Little Thing – Harinezumi no Koi

April 17th

Morning Musume – Brainstorming / Kimi Sae Ireba Nani mo Iranai

E-girls – Lesson 1 (album)

Naoto Inti Raymi – Koi suru Kisetsu

Alice Nine – Shadowplay

GReeeeN – Ikaros

April 24th

Kanjani8 – Hesomagari /  Koko ni shikanai Keshiki

Golden Bomber – The Past Masters Vol. 1 (compilation album)

Oda Kazumasa – Sono Hi ga Kurumade / Yasashii Kaze ga Fuitara

Kitano Kii – Raspberry Jam (Title Tentative)

NICO Touches the Walls – Shout to the Walls! (album)

Sandaime J Soul Brothers – Spark

May 1st

Sexy Zone – Real Sexy! / BAD BOYS

EXILE ATSUSHI & Nobuyuki Tsujii – Soredemo, Ikiteyuku

Yuzu – Land (album)

Golden Bombers have some guts calling their compilation album “Past Masters Vol. 1” (a reference, intentional or not, to the famous pair of Beatles compilation albums).

It’ll be real interesting to watch Takahashi Minami-san’s debut, and since she’s always made a positive impression, I’m rooting for her to do well.

After that, I guess I’ll be watching to see how Momoiro Clover Z do on their second album. The Kanjani8 release could go anywhere, but as long as it takes platinum in its first week, I wouldn’t call it a disappointing number.

The real question is Sexy Zone, right? They haven’t bottomed out yet, but will if this single does better than their last one. I really disliked “Sexy Summer ni Yuki ga Furu”, so I hope this one does better on those grounds alone. But could SZ lose their streak of weekly #1 spots to EXILE ATSUSHI and Nobuyuki Tsujii anyway? That might be toughest fight in the next month.

