Well, here we go! New year, new season, and a whole new line-up of dramas to enjoy. The question that this post tries to answer is: how well have the stories of the dramas captured the interest of Japanese viewers? The only quantitative way to approach that question is with ratings, so, without further ado, let’s see how the new dramas shaped up in their debuts.

As always, the ratings presented here are from a much more complete article on TokyoHive here. Since I’m only interested in tracking a few dramas, this article serves to summarize those numbers, giving me easy access for future reference. As a further note, I don’t cover the Taiga Drama (which is Yae no Sakura this year) here since it’s in a category of its own and isn’t really comparable to the seasonal dramas. I also don’t cover specials because, again, there’s no basis for comparison between them and a seasonal drama.

Prime Time Shows

Biblia Koshodo no Jiken Techo – (01) 14.3%

Last Hope – (01) 14.2%

Nakuna, Hara-chan – (01) 12.9%

Share House no Koibito – (01) 11.6%

Nobunaga no Chef – (01) 11.6%, (02) 9.9%

Karamazov no Kyoudai – (01) 7.4%, (02) 7.3%

Late Night Shows

Shinryochu -in the Room- – (01) 3.1%, (02) 2.7%

Kodomo Keishi – (starts January 22nd)

All in all, it doesn’t look like we’re going to get any blockbusters like Doctor X or Priceless were last season.

I’ve got the first episode of Biblia Koshodo with subs and will be looking at it either tonight or tomorrow. I haven’t decided yet whether I’ll review it, though seeing how Gouriki Ayame-san and AKIRA-san play these roles – very different from other parts I’ve seen them in – is enticing.

I was supposed to have already reviewed Last Hope, but haven’t seen subtitles. I already took a look at it raw, but decided it was beyond my current Japanese language abilities to try to review it without subs, since it’s largely all talk. I have some views about the acting, of course (since that’s about delivery and not necessarily about the lines themselves), but I usually prefer to comment on plot. Why does it seem like Aiba-kun’s dramas are slow to get subbed?

Haven’t seen Nakuna, Hara-chan, but it doesn’t sound like my kind of thing.

I took a peek at Share House no Koibito to see how much of a part Nakajima Yuto-kun and Kawaguchi Haruma-san have, since they’d be the ones I want to watch (no offense to Oizumi-san). The result was: not enough for me to review it. I still want to see how the two of them do, but the drama is once again not my kind of thing.

I’ve already started on Nobunaga no Chef, so you know I want to see that do well. In this case, “well” means averaging over 10%.

Karamazov no Kyoudai has a solid block of people interested in it – and more of a percentage than I expected.

Haven’t started Shinryochu yet. I want to finish Piece first, but it looks like yanie02 on livejournal has finished subbing the first episode of Shinryochu, so maybe I’ll overlap a bit to avoid falling behind on the new season the way I did last season.

There’s probably nothing I’m more curious about, though, than Kodomo Keishi, now that I’ve seen how Nobunaga no Chef is going to go. I didn’t think very highly of Kodomo Keisatsu, but I suspect that I was missing something there, if they were willing to give this a try.

