These are some of the single and album releases for January (i.e. releases from groups that I’m interested in tracking). My apologies if I missed a significant release – please mention the artist and title in a comment and I’ll update the list.

More complete listings are available on merchant websites (I use CD Japan’s list). For my part, I think there’s some value in also having a shortlist (especially for my own reference), so I’ll stick with this format.

January 1st

Golden Bomber – Dance My Generation

Sandaime J Soul Brothers – Miracle (album)

January 8th

Hamasaki Ayumi – A Classical (album)

January 9th

Yamada Ryosuke – Mystery Virgin

Yuzu – Reason

Fudanjuku – Jinsei Wahaha!

Babymetal – Ijime, Dame, Zettai

January 16th

No Sleeves – Kirigirisu Jin

BREAKERZ – Rusty Hearts

January 23rd

GLAY – Justice (album)

GLAY – Guilty (album)

AAA – Miss you / Hohoemi no Saku Basho

Super Junior-K.R.Y. – Promise You

Morning Musume – Help me!!

January 30th

SKE48 – Choco no Dorei

Sako Tomohisa – New Single (Title TBA)

Kome Kome Club – Takarabune

Nakashima Mika – Real

Generations from EXILE TRIBE – Animal

Kyary Pamyu Pamyu – Kimi ni 100 Percent / Furisodeshon

February 6th

KAT-TUN – New Single (Title TBA)

Kashiwagi Yuki – Debut Single (Title TBA)

Dream5 – Come On! / Dofremifa Sorairo

C-ute – Kono Machi

SCANDAL – Encore Show

Fuku to Kanon – Neko Nyan Nyan Nyan Inu Wan Wan Wan (. . .)

February 8th

Hamasaki Ayumi – Love again (album)

There are a few points of interest for me in what looks like a relatively thin release month. First, of course, is curiosity about how Yamada-kun’s single will do. Considering sales of NYC singles and Nakayama Yuma-kun’s solo foray, I’m expecting something in the range of 80k to 100k, with anything under 75k a disappointment and over 105k a surprise.

Both of my October discoveries – Sako Tomohisa-kun and Dream5 – have new releases this cycle. I remain interested in how they do, and will likely get the Dream5 single if it comes with the choreography videos like the group’s singles normally do.

Will KAT-TUN be able to post a better number than the all-too-consistent 156k-157k in first week sales they managed on the last two? My positive surprise level on that single is 170k, and disappointment level is 135k.

I also have to wonder how Kashiwagi Yuki-san will do in her debut. This month offers a vertical comparison (within the -48 family) to No Sleeves and a horizontal one (as another solo debut) to Yamada-kun.

So, plenty of interesting releases even though the clear heavyweight is SKE48.

 

