These are some of the single and album releases for October (i.e. releases from groups that I recognize). My apologies if I missed a significant release – please mention the artist and title in a comment and I’ll update the list.

More complete listings are available on merchant websites (I use CD Japan’s list). For my part, I think there’s some value in also having a shortlist (especially for my own reference), so I’ll stick with this format.

October 3rd

Domoto Koichi – Gravity (Album)

Sexy Zone – Sexy Summer ni Yuki ga Furu

Sako Tomohisa – Kimikoi Calendar

October 10th

Morning Musume – Wakuteka Take a Chance

Fukuyama Masaharu – Beautiful Life / Game

GACKT – Hakuro

BREAKERZ – BREAKERZ Best – Single Collection – (Album)

October 17th

Kanjani8 – 8EST (Album)

Sashihara Rino with Anrire – Ikujinashi Masquerade

Sakamoto Ryuichi – Three (Title Subject to Change)

October 24th

Kimura Kaela – Sun shower

Koda Kumi – Go to the top

October 31st

Arashi – Popcorn (Album)

AKB48 – UZA

Nakayama Yuma – Missing Piece

AAA – (New single: Title TBA)

mihimaru GT – Banzai Saisho!!!

Superfly – Force (single)

Dream5 – Shekimeki

November 7th

NMB48 – Kitagawa Kenji

flumpool – Answer

Well, I’m definitely looking forward to the Kanjani8 and Arashi albums, and intend to review them if I can do so in a timely fashion (within a week of their release). I’m more of an album buyer, and rarely bother with singles, though a number of the singles in being released in October have me curious. I especially want to see how Nakayama Yuma does on his solo effort, though considering he’s up against AKB48, he’s going to have to settle for the #2 spot at best, and even for that he might have some competition.

As for Domoto Koichi’s album, I’ll give that a listen if I get the chance, but I probably won’t review it.

I thought Fukuyama-san’s “Beautiful Life / Game” was supposed to be released on Sept. 26th, but it looks like that changed on me.

Will AKB48’s UZA be a show of strength after “Gingham Check” fell a bit short, or will we see another decline? In the latter case, I hope people don’t start writing AKB postmortems too hastily.

Finally, as much as I respect the efforts of the members of the group, I think Sexy Zone will not have much success with “Sexy Summer ni Yuki ga Furu.” That’s a shame, since the group features two very good voices in Nakajima Kento and Kikuchi Fuma. “Lady Diamond” was a weak-but-catchy song supported by three B-Sides I liked a lot. In every respect, this new single is a downgrade from that one, and I’ll be surprised if the sales figures don’t show that.

Of course, I have been surprised before . . .

