These are the notable single and album releases for the next month (in other words, releases from groups that I recognize). My apologies if your favorite artist is not included – please mention the artist and title in a comment and I’ll update the list if it’s someone I should have included.

Last month, liime_arix posted a more complete list on aramatheydidnt, and hopefully will do so again. For my part, I think there’s some value in also having a shortlist (partly, this is for my own reference), so I’ll stick with this format.

As expected, the AKB family had new releases scheduled just in time – right when they disappeared out of the top 30, we’ve got a new wave coming.

August 1st

Koda Kumi – Beach Mix

SMAP – Moment

No Name – Kibo ni Tsuite

Ashida Mana – Ame ni Negai wo

August 8th

Hamasaki Ayumi – A Summer Best

V6 – kEEp oN.

SMAP – Gift of SMAP

NMB48 – Virginity

Home Made Kazoku – Love is . . .

Idoling!!! – One Up!!! / Ichigo Gyunyu

Yuzu – Mata Ashita

Antic Cafe – amazing blue

Kawamura Ryuichi – The Voice 2

August 15th

Kis-My-Ft2 – WANNA BEEEE!!! / Shake It Up

AKB48 – 1830m

Perfume – Spending all my time

Superfly – Kagayaku Tsuki no Yoni / The Bird Withough Wings

August 22nd

Tsuchiya Anna – Voyagers (version Fourze and version Anna)

AAA – 777 -Triple Seven-

Super Junior – Sexy, Free & Single

Aqua Timez – Tsubomi

S/mileage – Sukiyo, Jyujyo Hankoki

TOKIO – 17

Nogizaka46 – Hashire! Bicycle

Ayabie – Answer

Dragon Ash – Loud & Peace

August 29th

AKB48 – Gingham Check

Fudanjuku – Otoko

September 5th

Exile Tribe – 24karats TRIBE Of GOLD

Kobukuro – All Singles Best 2

Cute – Aitai Aitai Aitaina

 

On the Johnny’s side, SMAP, TOKIO, and V6 make this a senpai month, though Kis-My-Ft2 breaks the mold with their much-anticipated single. Incidentally, the AKB48 release there is an album, so we can be pretty sure AKB48 will take #1 on the album list and Kis-My-Ft2 will take #1 on the singles list for the week of the 15th.

Wow, is August 8th packed! I guess it’s an auspicious day or something (actually, I know it’s an auspicious day in Chinese, though the reason for that is language-based and doesn’t work in Japanese).

No offense to Super Junior or their fans, but doesn’t that single title make them seem a bit desperate?

Since it’s the theme song to GTO, it’ll be interesting to see how “24 karats TRIBE OF GOLD” does.

Will AKB48’s Gingham Check be able to crack 2 million? If it does, pretty soon we’ll be talking about AKB48 threatening to enter the all-time top 10.

By the way, it’s been more acute in previous months than this one, but the person who introduced the Japanese to the exclamation mark has a lot to answer for.

 

