These are the notable (i.e. potentially popular) Single and Album Releases for the next month. My apologies if your favorite artist is not included – please mention the artist and title in a comment and I’ll update the list if it’s someone I should have included. Unfortunately, adding every release in the month would make this post a mess, since there’s more than a hundred of them, and most of them are from artists that will sell fewer than twenty thousand copies.

(Edit: A more complete list is available here at aramatheydidnt – thanks to liime_arix)

Recently, the livejournal page for Johnny’s new releases (johnnys_shop) stopped updating, so I thought people might be interested in this kind of summary.

July 4th

Yamashita Tomohisa – Love Chase

Morning Musume – One Two Three / The Matenrou Show

July 11th

Scandal – Taiyo Scandalous

Angela Aki – Kokuhaku

Rola (who I’ve been calling Lola) – Memories

flumpool – Because . . . I am

July 18th

French Kiss – Romance Privacy

Ikimonogatari – Kaze ga Fuite Iru

Angela Aki – Blue

NEWS – Chankapana

Kuwata Keisuke – I Love You – now & forever

July 25th

Eight Ranger (Kanjani8) – ER

Watanabe Mayu – Otona Jelly Beans

Yamashita Tomohisa – Ero

Fairies – Tweet Dream / Sparkle

AAA – 777 – We can sing a song!

Exile – Bow & Arrows

August 1st

No Name – Kibo ni Tsuite

Koda Kumi – Beach Mix

Another Exile release? Already? And what’s with both Angela Aki-san and Yamapi having two releases in the same month? Shouldn’t they space those out a bit more to give their fans a chance to buy the records? Doesn’t make much sense to me, but what do I know?

I still see an anti-NEWS conspiracy here. Yamapi totally has the first post-Yamapi NEWS single surrounded, trying his best to siphon off all his fans and keep the new NEWS from staying afloat. Is Yamapi really that kind of guy? I didn’t used to think so, but shouldn’t he give the NEWS release a bit more room? Since the Johnny’s agency itself played a larger part in this scheduling of releases than Yamapi did, it amounts to a conspiracy against NEWS. Maybe I’m paranoid, but it’s funny how every new piece of evidence tends to feed my paranoia.

I’m curious about the Eight Ranger single. I simply have no idea how it might do, and it will be fascinating to find out.

The title of AAA’s “We can sing a song” makes me think there’s going to be some really bad English there. After all, “a song” is almost redundant – it is sufficient in most cases to say “we can sing.”

Well, as you can probably tell, I’m most interested to find out how the NEWS single turns out, since they have all the odds stacked against them.

